Additional actions:

The tempest / Thomas Adès ; libretto by Meredith Oakes ; the Metropolitan Opera presents
DVDs DVDs | Deutsche Grammophon | 2013
Not Available at Adult DVD-Nonfiction (DUE 07-09-15)
close only show available only show available only show available only show available
see all


Location Call No. Volume Status Note
Adult DVD-Nonfiction 792.542 TEM DUE 07-09-15


Berlin : Deutsche Grammophon, [2013]
1 videodisc (86 minutes) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. + a booklet (11 p.)
Metropolitan Opera HD live
Metropolitan Opera HD live.
System Det
DVD; PCM stereo., DTS 5.1.
Sung in English, with optional subtitles in English, German, French, Spanish or Korean.
Title from container.
Opera, in 3 acts, after the play by William Shakespeare.
"A co-production of the Metropolitan Opera, L'Opéra de Québec, and the Wiener Staatsoper, Vienna, in collaboration with Ex Machina."
Simon Keenlyside (Prospero) ; Audrey Luna (Ariel) ; Alan Oke (Caliban) ; Alek Shrader (Ferdinand) ; Isabel Leonard (Miranda) ; John Del Carlo (Gonzalo) ; William Burden (King of Naples) ; Toby Spence (Antonio) ; Christopher Feigum (Sebastian) ; Kevin Burdette (Stefano) ; Iestyn Davies (Trinculo) ; The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Chorus and Ballet ; Thomas Adès, conductor ; Deborah Voigt, host.
Production, Robert Lepage; set designer, Jasmine Catudal; costume designer, Kym Barrett; lighting designer, Michel Beaulieu; video image artist, David Leclerc; choreographer, Crystal Pite.
Live HD transmission 2012 November 10 Metropolitan Opera.
"Performed by arrangement with European American Music Distributors Company, U.S. and Canadian agent for Faber Music Ltd., London."
Credits, chapter index, program notes by Thomas May, and synopsis (11 p. : portraits) included.
Story of the sorcerer, Prospero, and his daughter who have been stranded on an island for twelve years.
Special features: The tempest : a roundtable discussion with Thomas Adès, Meredith Oakes, Robert Lepage, and Peter Gelb -- Backstage at the MET with host Deborah Voigt : interviews with Isabel Leonard & Alek Shrader, Simon Keenlyside, Audrey Luna & Alan Oke ; Thomas Adès.
Local Note
MW, 1-14
Alt Author
Music #
B0019028-09 Deutsche Grammophon
NoveList Results
Other Sources
View in classic catalog View in classic catalog View MARC display View MARC display
Back to top